Pride Come Before a Fall …

Doesn’t it just … ?

This time last week, I finished the first draft of my fourth chapter of Captain Thomas Bowrey’s life. Unlike the previous chapter, it had gone so well. I was congratulating myself on how easy I was finding this writing business. After leaving my chapter for  week and starting to think about the next – full of confidence – this morning I started reviewing my work.

It is dreadful. Not just slightly off but truly rubbish. Whole chunks just do not belong – they are easy, I can just delete them. Other parts are unreadable nonsense.

This experience has justified my belief that you need to read your work out loud. It quickly becomes clear that something is not working. Oh well, back to the drawing board – or rather the laptop. The consolation is that I am ahead of schedule and I can rework it with not impact on my timetable.

2 thoughts on “Pride Come Before a Fall …

Leave a Reply

