2016 Progress Update

It is hard to believe that it is already November. 2017 is rapidly approaching and we have reached that time of the year when real life starts to take over. I knew this would happen and allowed for it in my plan. It is time to reflect on my progress writing Bowrey’s biography.

This afternoon, I completed the revisions of my East Indies chapters. What I originally expected to be just one chapter had turned into three with a total of over 16,500 words. Despite that, I have finished everything I planned to do this year. OK, it took a little longer than expected but that is why plans include contingency.

At the start of this year, I had written nothing. Now I have written more than 40,000 words. I have begun to understand my style and its faults. I have learned to review and revised what I have written. OK, I know I need to be more ruthless. I know I need to restructure what I have written. But I have come a long way. This time last year, I had no idea if I could do this. Now I know I can.

That is not all. When I started on this project, I had not planned to write a blog nor engage with social media. So far, I have avoided twitter and I am still very much a beginner on facebook and google+ – I seem to be sharing with just myself so they need more work. I have had a little more success with this blog and have some followers. Thank you very much for showing some interest.

WordPress have notified me that I will soon be able to have a domain name which will hopefully mean that I can make this a little more interesting. So, please continuing following me. I hope I can make it worthwhile.

 

Leave a Reply

