On This Day: 30 April 2017

In over ten weeks since I start this series of On This Day posts, this is only the third day on which I can find nothing relating to Thomas Bowrey. On most days I have had a choice of documents to discuss.

In that time, I have written about Bowrey’s life in the East Indies in the late 17th century and after his return to Wapping in the early 18th century. There have been posts about Bowrey’s in-laws, the Gardiner family. A few entries have covered the excitement of the papers being discovered two centuries after Bowrey’s death.

Along the way, I have discussed Hubblebubbles and copper plates, shipping and a court case, friends and business partners. The variety of the contents of the papers is huge and there is much more to come. I hope to be able to keep it up for a year. Keep reading along with me.

Leave a Reply

